Evaluation and Reflection- Why Paint Fine Art Landscapes.

aceI realise that art is subject to fashion. Some of the grand art panjandrums (to use the term favoured by Brian Sewell the art critic) or the ‘gatekeepers’ of taste, would strongly deny this of course, and declare that art is way above the vicissitudes of vogue – and though I would love to agree, I’m afraid that it just isn’t so. I also realise that the fashions of the day elevate some sectors and activities of the art world, while others are rigorously despised. And currently of course the most despised area of art, the lowest of the low, is that of landscape painting. I knew this a few years ago when I took up painting landscapes.

Initially  I didn’t think too much about it. I started painting landscapes simply because I enjoyed it.

Because it gave me the most pleasure and satisfaction of any type of painting that I had tried.

So honesty pushed me in this direction, and in the main I am totally confident about the choice. However,  occasionally, in my most insecure moments, I sometimes ask myself, why paint something so irredeemably uncool.  Well, here’s the reason – Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.
King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.)

Of course, it may seem strange that I should be quoting the Bible to justify a strongly-felt conviction. But these elegant and clear words express my personal view better than any of my own ever could. So although simply looking at the world around us, observing it’s great beauty, and re-producing it as best one can onto canvas, is considered to be uncool – nevertheless, I choose to persist.I hope you’ll understand and love my works.

Clearly others in the world of Fine Art and landscapes appreciate my works – it wins awards, so thank you to those people who reinforce my passion.

imageimageimageimageimage

Leave a Reply

