“An evaluation of why I constructed the “brick with life trapped inside”

This evaluation examines why I created the “brick with life trapped inside”, it is a personal story about how I, as a registered blind child and adult fought for equality and an education and a life, having been born with a genetic condition that left myself cut off from society, abandoned and abused by those who I should have been able to trust.

I am now a successful international landscape artist, with exhibitions worldwide and am undertaking a BA (Hons) Fine Art degree, with great accolade and vigour.

I have also been awarded the title – “most inspirational person”, by “Galloway’s society for the blind” and have won many awards and now carry the title “Ambassador” for “Galloways”.

The aim of this evaluation and my creation “brick with life trapped inside”, I hope contributes to providing my educators with the means of solving problems with myself in a suitable way that suits reality, with compassion and understanding in their classrooms and communications about and with myself, that will enhance my learning and help develop future support for students that are blind, suffering with visual impairments, or have spent their lives in the social care system and possibly (like myself), suffered extreme abuse.

Additionally, this evaluation of the work “brick with life trapped inside” seeks to supply a conceptual framework for my educators, peers, local authorities, fellow artists, museum workers and art gallery owners to implement when displaying my works whilst also adopting cultural and ethical understanding of the reason for  art and developing opportunities designed to be accessible for all.

Brick with life trapped inside” is a visual self-statement of my life, because as a child, born with a genetic disorder, I was abandoned by my family   and placed into the care of social services (as a ward of court) and was passed from one foster home to another.

Deep rooted experiences (that shaped my thought of fear portrayed in “brick with life trapped inside”), stem from whilst being in the care of one foster family at a very, very young age, I was often locked in a darkened, locked room and treated worse than an animal.

I was abused both sexually and physically and made to do and perform things I didn’t want to. In turn this made me feel disgusted, trapped and not wanting to look in a mirror.

In short, I felt trapped and I found sanctuary in locking myself away from the outside world in my darkened room.

Just like with “brick with life trapped inside”, from the outside there is nothing, other than a boring brick, however, closer inspection show’s there’s life and beauty trapped within if you look.

The reality is that the life and beauty trapped within remains hidden and cut off from the outside world, with little external stimuli (mirroring my life).

The reaction of the courts left me even more trapped within my brick, as they advised (whilst acknowledging that the abuse had happened), that the best way to proceed was not to look back at the hurt, but to look forward.

One cannot, ever eradicate the past, but one has to trap it within the brick and move on.

However, unfortunately, it is never the nastiness that gets trapped within the brick, it is always the beauty; the nastiness hovers unseen outside of the brick, awaiting its chance to hurt the beauty within.

Therefore, a pile of bricks, with beauty within depicts my life.

I myself am a “brick with life trapped inside”

Those in charge of dealing with the issues must attempt to place not beauty inside the brick, but ensure horror and abuse are trapped within, and let the beauty grow around and eradicate the horror and abuse.

 

This is what’s inside the brick:

Soil, leaves, grass, water, sand, plaster, berries, charcoal, ash, mud, salt, gravel, stones and pigments extracted from leaves and grass was used to paint the outside.

 

Leave a Reply

