About

Justine Raith is a 38 year old, winner of the Royal Watercolour Society Contemporary Art Competition, 2017 (elected members of the Royal Watercolour Society), registered partially blind student, currently studying studying BA (Hons) Fine Art at University Centre Blackburn College (validated by Lancaster University), Lancashire, United Kingdom.

Justine was awarded ‘Galloways Society for the Blind’ – ‘EyeCan Award 2015’ – ‘Most Inspirational Person Award’.

Justine is recognised as an ambassador for the blind and partially sighted by Galloways and the Royal Institute for the Blind.

Justine was a winner in the 2017 “Royal Watercolour Society’s”, “Contemporary Watercolour Competition”and her work entitled “Bardsey Island, North Wales”, was shown at the “Royal Watercolour Society’s” – “Bankside Gallery” in London between Friday 3rd to Wednesday 15th March, 2017.

Justine was a wild card finalist in ‘Sky Arts Landscape Artist of the Year, 2016’ and was filmed and interviewed for the competition at Stowe Gardens, Buckinghamshire.

Justine’s works were shown and displayed in the Art Beyond Sight exhibition that ran between March and May, 2016, sponsored by Art with a Heart, shown in Altrincham, Cheshire.

Justine’s works were also selected for the Best of British Competition, sponsored by Art with a Heart, that ran nationally in Summer 2016.

Justine displays annually at the Harris Open, Preston, Lancashire.

Justine has her own studios at Daisyfield Mills, Blackburn, Lancashire, and has another studio in Lancaster.

Justine says:

“I have always been fascinated by the effect that visual stimuli can have on our thoughts, our emotions, and our understanding of the world around us.

From complex, ornate artistry to the seemingly simple arrangements of colour and shape that underpin the work of abstract impressionists, like Mark Ronko or Jackson Pollock, human beings have always sought to represent our lives in visual terms.

As I have refined my own interests through study, I have built upon my previous experience to improve both my intellectual understanding of the visual and my practice as an artist.

I prove to be a strong, all-round student throughout schooling including securing an excellent performance in my preliminary studies of Fine Art.

I have also continued to pursue my interests in Fine Art, undertaking a Level 3 Diploma in Art and Design (actually being awarded Level 4).

I have got so much out of these studies that it is almost impossible to outline the way in which they have helped me to develop as an artist and as a person.

Involving a great deal of group work, I am happy to say that I have gained the interpersonal skills to collaborate with others and to provide, and receive, instructive criticism on work.

Taking my own work seriously has really allowed both my practical technique and conceptual abilities to develop in a supportive intellectual environment.

These studies have also built on my existing interest in the range and breadth of the art world, taking in painting, drawing and sculpting, and photography, and fostering a love for numerous artists, such as Thomas Moran, Naum Gabo, Hazel Brook and Richard Long, all of whom work in various media and with various frameworks. I am passionate about another male artist.

Having also worked as an Art Decorator and Sales Assistant at an art shop, I have gained an introduction to the commercial realities of the art world.

Working selling art materials, framing pictures and setting up exhibitions for the gallery introduced me to the complexities of selling art products and the connection between pure creativity and creating within a market.

While the work that I last undertook at several Equestrian Centre’s, is unfortunately unrelated to the art world, it does draw upon the transferable skills I gained through this role; namely, teamwork, time management and creating good relationships with clients and colleagues.

I also get great inspiration from riding out into the open countryside in the saddle, as well as bare saddled, with the horses that I ride. I do take my camera out with me when I am out riding.

I now own my own art studio and hope to make my future career out of the world of art.

Art is a passion for me that gives structure to much of my free time.

In addition to reading around the subject, creating work and visiting galleries, I have found to have been through useful exercises in working within a strict timescale and to a specific brief which will help me throughout my academic studies.

My ever-present passion and dedication to the visual arts has grown with my studies, inspiring me to learn as much as possible about my chosen field and to pursue a career that reflects this interest, whether as an artist or through developing my previous experience in curating or working in the art world in some other capacity.

By building on my studies through a degree in Fine Art at a highly prestigious institution, I look forward to growing in skills, knowledge and experience in the hope of making this goal a reality.

I hope this sample Fine Art personal statement has been helpful, and given you some insight into myself.

Leave a Reply

